Subscribe | Print Page | Contact Us | Report Abuse | Sign In
Crisis in Ukraine: A Role for Human Rights Funders
Tell a Friend About This EventTell a Friend

When: 1/14/2014
Where: Ukraine

« Go to Upcoming Event List  

Crisis in Ukraine:
A Role for Human Rights Funders  
Tuesday, January 14, 2014 

7:00 am-8:00 am PST
10:00 am-11:00 am EST
3:00 pm-4:00 pm GMT
4:00 pm-5:00 pm CET 
5:00 pm-6:00 pm EET 

"The bells of Mikhailovsky Cathedral in the ancient heart of Kiev began to ring in alarm just after 1 am on December 11th. As in medieval times, this was a sign that the city was under siege, and a call to citizens to come to its defence."   

-The Economist, December 14, 2013

The Ukrainian government's decision not to continue along the path to EU membership brought protestors onto the streets by the thousands. The motives behind this decision and the people's reaction to it have wide geo-political and regional implications, and place Ukraine back in the regional spotlight. This telebriefing is aimed at helping human rights funders untangle some of these current threads.


In this telebriefing, participants will:

  • Survey the current political and human rights situation in the country, including the work and challenges of human rights defenders
  • Consider the state of international support for human rights and civil society inside and outside the country
  • Examine the priorities, opportunities, entry points, and potential pitfalls for human rights funders
  • Look at local policy restrictions on funding from international sources  

Speakers include:

  •  Natalia Karbowska, Board Chair, Ukrainian Women's Fund   
  • Ross Maclaren, Program Officer, Charles Stewart Mott Foundation
  • Jo Andrews, Director, Ariadne - European Funders for Social Change and Human Rights (Moderator)
Register here
This telebriefing is open only to grantmakers.

Av. 9 de Julho, 5.143, cj 61 - São Paulo - SP – Brazil

Tel. +55 11 3078-7299